Worcestershire Chess League

Worcs CA About Worcs League League rules Archive

Last updated 28 Jan 2022

League News: Shock withdrawal of Longbridge first team

30 Dec Steve Crees reports. Longbridge have had to withdraw their team from Division 1 because of unforeseen circumstances.

1 Dec. Redditch have new venue at Alvechurch and Hopwood Cricket Club.

28 Oct. Redditch may have to use a temporary venue while the Alvechurch Sports & Social Club is refurbished.

30 Sep. At Worcester’s EGM it was agreed to invite Droitwich players to contribute to its league teams and that Worcester’s Division 2 team would be called "Worcester & Droitwich", captained by Ray Collett and normally playing its home matches at Worcester.

22 Sep. League teams square up. Division 1 comprises five teams: Halesowen, Kidderminster, Longbridge, Malvern, Redditch and Worcester City. Division 2 has 5 teams: Kidderminster, Longbridge, Redditch, Stourbridge and Worcester City.

16 Sep. The league’s Inaugural League match in memory of Nick Harris featured teams led by captains from Worcester City and Stourbridge, the two clubs Nick has played with in recent seasons. The visiting team, Stourbridge All Stars, beat Worcester All Stars 3-2.

14 Sep. Temporary joint league formed. General meetings of Worcestershire CA and Worcester & District Chess League agreed to form a temporary joint league for the 2021-2 season because many players are reluctant to travel to matches while the Covid-19 epidemic was still raging. The officials of the temporary joint league are Paul Sharratt (General secretary, grading officer, safeguarding lead). A panel for resolving disputes was appointed: Secretary W&DCL, Andrew Farthing; President WCA, Ray Collett; Brian Turner and Stephen Woodhouse.

 

Navigation on this page. Latest matches at top
  Division 1 Division 2  

The Nuffield Department of Primary Care has produced useful videos about preventing the spread of Covid-19.

2021-2 Division 1 Table

Team Played Won Drawn Lost For Against Match
Points
Redditch 1 4 3 0 1 11 9 6
Worcester City 4 3 0 1 10½ 6
Kidderminster 1 4 1 0 3 10 10 2
Halesowen 1 1 0 0 3 2 2
Malvern 2 0 0 2 0
Longbridge 1 withdrew 1 0 0 1 2 3 0
 

 

 

 

Division 1 News

12 Jan. Redditch, at home, beat Malvern to nudge Worcester from the top of the table.

6 Jan. Worcester start the new year with a home win against Kidderminster

30 Dec. Longbridge 1 withdrew from the Division 1.

21 Dec. Halesowen and Worcester postpone their pre-Christmas match.

15 Dec. Kidderminster score their first win beating Redditch at home.

1 Dec. Kidderminster has also postponed its next match.

24 Nov. Malvern have had to postpone their pre-Christmas fixtures.

18 Nov. Worcester, at home beat Longbridge.

12 Nov. Redditch beat Malvern to stride ahead of Worcester.

9 Nov. Halesowen beat Kidderminster

3 Nov. Worcester get their first win of the season at Kidderminster

20 Oct. In the first Division 1 match of the season, Redditch beat Worcester.

 

2021-2 Fixtures Division 1

Fixtures start 7:30pm. Scores in the results column link to full match card

2018
2021 Dates Division 1 FixturesResult
Wed 20 Oct Redditch 1 - Worcester City 3½ - 1½
Wed 3 Nov Kiddermister 1 - Worcester City 2 - 3
Tue 9 Nov Halesowen - Kidderminster 1 3 - 2
Fri 12 Nov Malvern - Redditch 1 2 - 3
Thu 18 Nov Worcester City - Longbridge 1 3 - 2
Wed 15 Dec Kiddermister 1 - Redditch 1 4 - 1
2022 Dates    
Thu 6 Jan Longbridge 1 - Redditch 1 X
Thu 6 Jan Worcester City - Kidderminster 1 3 - 2
Wed 12 Jan Redditch 1 - Malvern 3½ - 1½
Fri 28 Jan Malvern - Kidderminster 1  
Wed 2 Feb Kidderminster 1 - Halesowen  
Thu 3 Feb Longbridge 1 - Worcester City X
Tue 8 Feb Halesowen - Redditch 1  
Wed 16 Feb Redditch 1 - Kidderminster 1  
Fri 18 Feb Malvern - Worcester City  
Wed 23 Feb Redditch 1 - Longbridge 1 X
Tue 1 Mar Halesowen - Malvern  
Thu 3 Mar Worcester City - Redditch 1  
Fri 11 Mar Malvern - Longbridge 1 X
Tue 15 Mar Halesowen - Longbridge 1 X
Wed 16 Mar Kidderminster 1 - Malvern  
Thu 31 Mar Worcester City - Malvern  
Thu 7 Apr Worcester City - Halesowen  
Thu 7 Apr Longbridge 1 - Malvern X
Thu 14 Apr Longbridge 1 - Halesowen X
Fri 15 Apr Easter  
Thu 21 Apr Longbridge 1 - Kidderminster 1 X
Fri 22 Apr Malvern - Halesowen NEW  
Wed 27 Apr Kidderminster 1 - Longbridge 1 X
Wed 27 Apr Redditch 1 - Halesowen  
Tue 10 May Halesowen - Worcester City NEW  
 

 

Navigation on this page. Latest matches at top
  Division 1 Division 2  

Division 2: 2021-2

2021-2 Division 2 Table

Most fixtures start 7:30pm. Please note that Longbridge home fixtures begin at 7:15pm

Scores in the results column link to full match card

Team Played Won Drawn Lost For Against Match
Points
Longbridge 2 5 2 2 1 12 8 6
Worcester & Droitwich 6 2 2 2 11½ 12½ 6
Stourbridge 6 2 1 3 12½ 11½ 5
Kidderminster 2 4 2 1 1 10 6 5
Redditch 2 5 2 0 3 6 14 4

Notes:

 

Division 2 News

27 Jan. Longbridge beat Redditch and join Worcester & Droitwich at the top with 6 match points each, but Longbridge have a game in hand.

19 Jan. Worcester & Droitwich lost to a youthful Kidderminster team led by Joe Friar, while Stourbridge leap into second place with a draw against Longbridge. The Division 2 tussle is beginning to look very interesting with the top two teams having fewer board wins than losses or fewer match wins.

13 Jan. Bottom-of-table Redditch have a shock away win against division leaders Worcester. Redditch are now mid-table.

9 Dec. Worcester & Droitwich beat Stourbridge to confirm their top-of-the-table position.

8 Dec. Stourbridge beat Kidderminster to join Worc & Droit at the top of the table.

25 Nov. Kidderminster whitwashed Redditch while Longbridge drew with Worcester & Droitwich

17 Nov. Redditch beat Stourbridge.

10 Nov. Another evening with two fixtures. Longbridge beat Redditch and Worcester & Droitwich go top with an away win over Stourbridge.

28 Oct. Stourbridge beat Longbridge and Worcester & Droitwich drew with Kidderminster to start the season in Division 2.

28 Oct. Redditch may need to use alternative venues because of refurbishment of Alvechurch Sports & Social Club

2021-2 Fixtures Division 2

Scores in the results column link to full match card

2021 Dates Division 2 Fixture Result
Thu 28 Oct Longbridge 2 - Stourbridge 1 - 3
Thu 28 Oct Worcester & Droitwich - Kidderminster 2 2 - 2
Wed 10 Nov Redditch 2 - Longbridge 2 ½ - 3½
Wed 10 Nov Stourbridge - Worcester & Droitwich 1½ - 2½
Wed 17 Nov Stourbridge - Redditch 2 1½ - 2½
Wed 24 Nov Kidderminster 2 - Redditch 2 4 - 0
Thu 25 Nov Longbridge 2 - Worcester & Droitwich 2 - 2
Wed 8 Dec Stourbridge - Kidderminster 2 3 - 1
Thu 9 Dec Worcester & Droitwich - Stourbridge 2½ - 1½
2022 Dates    
Thu 13 Jan Worcester & Droitwich - Redditch 2 1½ - 2½
Wed 19 Jan Stourbridge - Longbridge 2 2 - 2
Wed 19 Jan Kidderminster 2 - Worcester & Droitwich 3 - 1
Thu 27 Jan Longbridge 2 - Redditch 2 3½ - ½
Wed 9 Feb Kidderminster 2 - Stourbridge  
Thu 10 Feb Worcester & Droitwich - Longbridge 2  
Wed 2 Mar Redditch 2 Kidderminster 2  
Wed 23 Mar Redditch 2 - Worcester & Droitwich  
Wed 23 Mar Kidderminster 2- Longbridge 2  
Thu 31 Mar Longbridge 2 - Kidderminster 2  
     
Fri 15 Apr Easter Friday  
Wed 13 Apr Redditch 2 - Stourbridge  
     

Notes:

 

Navigation on this page. Latest matches at top
  Division 1 Division 2  

© Worcestershire Chess Association 2021-2 all rights reserved