Worcestershire Chess Association

Worcs CA Worcs League Archive Events Clubs

Individual Worcestershire Chess Champions

Last revised 11 February 2024


The title of Worcestershire Champion is currently awarded to the highest scoring player in the Worcester Closed congress. In the 1980s, the championship was won by the leading scorer in the Worcestershire Closed Championship held at Easter time. When the closed championship ceased and between 1995 and 2001, the county decided to award the title to the highest scoring player in the open section of a Worcestershire tournament organised by Castle Chess. The format of the competition was a knock out tournament in 1920, but the organisation of other years’ competitions is not known.


The earliest Worcestershire champion so far discovered was GEH Bellingham towards the end of the nineteenth century. The records from 1919 to 1945 come from a typewritten list unearthed by Andrew Farthing from the association's records. Peter Kitson, a three-times winner, copied a list of former champions engraved on the plinth to provide the names of champions from 1946 to 1985. The web editor’s records of county meetings and congress results provided the names for recent seasons. In several years the trophy was shared. The trophy for the Worcestershire Chess Champion was missing between the years 2003 and 2020, but has since been located, the list of winners brought up-to-date and was presented to the 2021-2 champion.


Season Champion Season Champion
1895-6 GEH Bellingham (a) 1967-8 RJ Clunie
1919-20 EE Westbury 1968-9 RJ Clunie
1920-1 EE Westbury " SE Reese
1921-2 EE Westbury 1969-70 Dr BG Dudley
1922-3 EE Westbury 1970-1 CA Gray
1923-4 TH Tylor 1971-2 Dr BG Dudley
1924-5 TH Tylor " PC Robertson
1925-6 EE Westbury 1972-3 J Heath
1926-7 GC Brown 1973-4 J Heath
1927-8 Dr A Learner 1974-5 J Anderson
1928-9 Dr A Learner 1975-6 J Anderson
1929-30 CG Butcher 1976-7 SW Small
1930-1 CG Butcher 1977-8 J Anderson
1931-2 PA Ursell 1978-9 KC Arkell
1932-3 RW Bonham 1979-80 AJ Taylor
1933-4 RW Bonham 1980-1 KC Arkell
1934-5 Dr A Learner 1981-2 R Trow
1935-6 CG Butcher 1982-3 D Pye
1936-7 CG Butcher 1983-4 SW Small
1937-8 CG Butcher 1984-5 Dr RA Collett
1938-9 CG Butcher 1985-6 SW Small (d)
1939-40 RW Bonham 1986-7 KR Milner (e)
1940-1 RW Bonham 1987-8 E Myers (d)
1941-2 RW Bonham 1988-9 KR Milner (d)
1942-3 RW Bonham 1989-90 D Goodwin
1943-4 RW Bonham 1990-1 DPM Goodwin
1944-5 RW Bonham 1991-2 SW Small
1945-6 RW Bonham 1992-3 SW Small
1946-7 RW Bonham Competition suspended
1947-8 JE Dutton 1995-6 MP Burrows
1948-9 RW Bonham S James
1949-50 RW Bonham 1996-7 PR Kitson
1950-1 RW Bonham 1997-8 MP Burrows
1951-2 RW Bonham PR Kitson
1952-3 RW Bonham 1998-9 MP Burrows
1953-4 RW Bonham PR Kitson
1954-5 RW Bonham 1999-2000 MP Burrows
1955-6 HEG Courtney CP Hibbard
1956-7 HEG Courtney 2000-1 MP Burrows (b)
1957-8 RW Bonham Competition suspended
1958-9 RW Bonham 2013-4 Brian Turner
1959-60 RW Bonham 2014-5 Brian Turner
1960-1 Dr BG Dudley 2015-6 no competition
1961-2 GF Harris 2016-7 Kevin Hurney
1962-3 GF Harris 2017-8 Lee Davis
1963-4 E Staudt 2018-9 Jeremy Fallowfield
1964-5 Dr BG Dudley Competition suspended (c)
1965-6 TRD Grove 2021-2 Stewart Fishburne
" PS Keate 2022-3 Peter Kitson
1966-7 LS Blackstock    

(a) Reported by Berrow's Worcestershire Journal. (b) Kidderminster Shuttle 23-10-01 downloaded 17-6-09 from HTTP://ARCHIVE.KIDDERMINSTERSHUTTLE.CO.UK/2001/10/23/301600.HTML, but no longer available. (c) Covid-19 epidemic. (d) Ray Collett’s records. (e) Worcester Evening News Wed 22 Apr 1987.