West Midlands Area League

chess.com server outage halts round 2

See autumn season results using Division 1 and 2 menu tabs above

19 Nov. chess.com server outage cancels round 2. Just as play was getting interesting in round 2 games, chess.com crashed. It is being suggested that any completed games should be rated and all round 2 matches should be re-sheduled for another date after the end of the current fixtures.
10 Nov Nigel Towers reports. Autumn season welcomes Hereford and Longbridge. The first Division has a new team, Hereford, and members of Greenlands club have changed their club’s name to Longbridge now they have decideed to meet as soon as restrictions allow at Austin Sports and Social Club across the road from their previous venue. It was agreed that teams should play two double matches in Division 1 now there are fewer teams in the division. South Birmingham and Warwick University Alumni were relegated and now play in Division 2. In Division 2, champions Coventry Chess have formed their own local online league and leave WMA on a high note. Division 2 teams are the same except that South Birmingham 1 and Warwick University Alumni were relegated and join from Division 1 and South Birmingham 2 team has dropped out.

Sutton Coldfield 1 are league champions and Coventry Chess Div 2 champs

8 Oct. Sutton Coldfield 1 easily held off a challenge from Solihull 1 to become Summer league champions. In Division 2, Coventry Chess just edged the top spot from Isle of Wight on tie break with an 8-0 win in the final evening. The league's players during the summer season included two grandmasters: Keith Arkell and Bogdan Lalic.

Two new teams for summer season

8 Aug. Lichfield and Kidderminster clubs have joined the league, but Rugby are not participating this season. Division 1 has eight teams and Division 2 ten teams. The default start-time for matches remains at 8pm, but captains can agree different times, providing the secretary has been notified. The season will run from 13 August to 15 October and results will be ECF online rated as previously. Fixtures lists published for Division 1 and Division 2.

Organising committee formed

7 Aug. The league organising committee is: Nigel Towers (Redditch), Rob Sutton (Worcester) and Stephen Woodhouse (Greenlands).

South Birmingham are first league champions, Warwick University Division 2 champions

25 Jun. Worcestershire teams payed second fiddle to clubs from the south Birmingham conurbation. See results for the first season